Home    About    Advocacy    Resources    Committees    Partners    ILA Foundation

Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Leadership Development Committee: Home

Committee Members

2020 Committee Members:

  • Sonja Ferrell (Chair) - Ottumwa Public Library
  • Julie Finch - Urbandale Public Library
  • Kelly Dybvig - Marion Public Library
  • Jennie Garner - North Liberty Community Library
  • Misty Gray - State Library of Iowa
  • Ellen Hampe-Alexander - Coralville Public Library
  • Trisha Hicks - State Library of Iowa
  • Andrew Hoppmann - Lied Public Library
  • Kim Kietzman - Altoona Public Library
  • Meghan Klein-Hewett - Ames Public Library
  • Nicole Lindstrom - Newton Public Library
  • Sandy Long - Whittemore Public Library
  • Nancy Medema - State Library of Iowa
  • Amy Muchmore - Carnegie-Stout Public Library
  • Michele Patrick - Indianola Public Library
  • Kay Runge - KK Runge Consultants
  • Holly Sealine - Norwalk Easter Public Library
  • Sarah Smith - Carnegie - Stout Public Library
  • Staci Stanton - Knoxville Public Library
  • Constance Wade - University of Iowa
  • Shu Wan - University of Iowa

Annual Report

2020 Leadership Institute Postponed

It is with a heavy heart that we need to inform our membership that the Leadership Development Committee has decided to postpone the Leadership Institute scheduled for 2020 to Summer 2021 because of the COVID 19 virus and related issues. We don't know what will happen in the coming weeks, but we felt it was in everyone's best interests to postpone and make that decision now. Maureen Sullivan, who instructs the Institute, was consulted and we all agreed that an online version of the training would not have nearly as many beneficial effects as the in person training has.

We are so grateful to everyone who took the time to put together an application. We are in the process of setting the dates for a rescheduled Leadership Institute in 2021.

Committee Charge

Actively identify and provide traditional and innovative opportunities for professional and leadership development for ILA members.  Communicate and partner with other ILA committees and Executive Board.  


Professional Development Opportunities

  • Leadership Institute Download the application
    • August 5-7, 2020 in Cedar Rapids, IA
      • Hotel Kirkwood Center
    • Applications are due May 8, 2020 

Why a leadership institute? Iowa’s future depends on educated, information-literate citizens. Libraries help create and sustain the essential habit of lifelong learning. Strong library leaders are essential to the evolution of great libraries. The Iowa Library Association has established a comprehensive leadership development program to ensure that its members are prepared to actively shape the future of Iowa libraries.

What happens at the Institute? You will participate in activities designed to help you: Recognize yourself as a leader and develop the confidence to become a change agent in your library as well as in the larger community. Assess your personal leadership style and develop the skills to use that style for effective decision making. Seek creative solutions to shape the future of the Iowa Library Association and library service in Iowa. Connect to a supportive network of successful library leaders.

Who will lead the institute? Maureen Sullivan, past ALA President (2012-2013), is the institute leader. A highly sought-after speaker advisor, Sullivan has more than twenty-five years of experience as a consultant on organization development and work redesign, strategic planning, leadership, managing change, and establishing learning programs.