Monday, April 5, 2021 the American Library Association released two big reports. One was the 2021 State of America's Library Special Report: Covid-19 and the Top 10 Most Challenged Books of 2020. Both can be viewed in the 2021 Report here or you can look at the Top 10 list separately here
Your participation gives librarians a stronger voice for the advancement of the profession and helps fulfill the Iowa Library Association's mission to promote libraries as an essential resource for all Iowans. Check out the video below!
Job Title: Children and Teen Librarian
Library: Osceola Public Library, Osceola, Iowa
Time at Your Library: I have served for over 15 years now!
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of working in a library?
What has been my favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of serving my library? It seems like my favorite aspect was whatever I was doing at the time. I've moved through every role in the library except for the position of director - and I've enjoyed all of it. Mostly, I love serving the people in the community. Whether I'm helping someone new to technology figure out how to use their tablet, or offering an ear to a lonely adult or a child who's struggling with relationships at home or school, it is quite rewarding.
What is your wish list for you library in the next 10 years?
My wish list for the next ten years is that our library would be a hub of activity for our community, a safe place for everyone who needs a safe place to hang out, someplace where people can learn and grow. We have a fairly diverse population in spite of our smaller size and rural location, (large homeschool presence, Hispanic families, Christians) and it's nice to see different segments of the community come together in one place. And, wouldn't it be spectacular if we had something like a 3-D printer?
What book are you currently reading?
I am currently reading The Masterpiece, by Francine Rivers.
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
My favorite library-related quote comes from Andrew Carnegie himself: "I choose free libraries as the best agencies for improving the masses of the people because they only help those who help themselves."
Valentine Candy Heart - Love 'em or Leave 'em?
Love 'em!
Job Title: Instruction Librarian
Library: Iowa State University Library, Ames, Iowa
Time at Your Library: I've been at ISU since July 2017. Prior to that I worked at Grand View University from 2011-2017.
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of serving your library?
My favorite thing will always be connecting with students to help them not only with their coursework and research needs, but also helping them entertain their curiosity to explore their passions.
What is your wish list for you library in the next 10 years?
In service of the strategic plan, the University Library is in the early stages of a multi-phase project to support library renovations in the Library, as well as at the Design Reading Room and the Veterinary Medicine Library. Through this, we hope to enhance student library experiences, expand flexible study spaces, and further improve collections to meet the dynamic needs of students, faculty, staff, and researchers. I can't wait to see it when it is all complete!
Why is your library important to your community?
The Iowa State University Library is central to the success of the entire learning community. From teaching information literacy skills, to providing access support, to growing initiatives in Open Educational Resources and Digital Press, our library impacts and supports the present and future of ISU. Beyond that, we support all educational programs and are dedicated to the university's land-grant mission of sharing knowledge to improve lives on and beyond campus to serve Iowa, and the world.
What book are you currently reading?
In print I'm working to read James Lang's Small Teaching: Everyday lessons from the Science of Learning and am taking a teacher license renewal class that is using Zimmermann and Hutchins' 7 Keys to Comprehension: How to Help Your Kids Read It and Get it! as a required text. I'm listening to Emily St. John Mandel's Station Eleven and the eighth book in the Flavia De Luce series Thrice the Brindled Cat Hath Mew'd by Alan Bradley.
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
"I believe that if, at the end, according to our abilities, we have done something to make others a little happier, and something to make ourselves a little happier, that is about the best we can do. To make others less happy is a crime. To make ourselves unhappy is where all crime starts. We must try to contribute joy to the world. That is true no matter what your problems, our health, or circumstances. We must try. I didn't always know this and am happy I lived long enough to find it out." Roger Ebert in his memoir, Life Itself, p.414
Valentine Candy Heart - Love 'em or Leave 'em?
Candy hearts? Love that chalky sweet goodness!
Job Title: Director
Library: Arlington Public Library, Arlington, Iowa (A size library)
Time at Arlinton Public Library: I started as the assistant librarian in 1983 and became the director in 1987. One of the outstanding aspects of working at the Arlington Public Library was that I could also serve as Director of the Fayette Community Library. I began as Director of the Fayette Community Library in 1988 and served as the Director for 29 years until I retired in October of 2017. I remained in my position of Director at Arlington because it is hard to find a certified librarian in our small community. Our library at Arlington has been accredited for several years and our community takes pride in having an accredited library.
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of working in a library?
One of my favorite accomplishments at the Arlington Public Library is having a preschool story hour since 1989. The Mid-Century Study Club began the program in 1969 and continued until the time I took it over. I do 26 one-hour preschool story hours each year. When I began in 1989 we had 35 children who attended, now we average about 10 children per week, but feel this is an important aspect of our library.
Why is your library important to your community?
The library faces many challenges with a dwindling population, slow job growth, declining business area, losing its post office a few years ago, school located in rural area and an aging community. But we are committed to serving our citizens and one of a few businesses located on Main Street. We want to continue to be a place where people gather, learn, share and grow. Two new programs we are doing this winter is a Tuesday morning coffee hour and a special Geri-Fit strength training program for the seniors of the area. I hope to find someone in the near future who will want to continue these services.
What book are you currently reading?
I just finished the book” Prayer Box” by Lisa Wingate. Our book discussion group who has been meeting for over 20 years had gave it high ratings. Lisa other book, “Before we were yours” is also on my reading list but is always out on interlibrary loan.
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
My favorite quote would be: “The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” ― Dr. Seuss, I Can Read With My Eyes Shut! I’m not a big traveler but books have taken me many places.
New Year's Resolutions - Yes or No?
I have no new year’s resolutions except to try and stay healthy and enjoy life. One of my best moments was becoming the 2014 ILA member of the year and serving on the ILA Foundation board. Don’t be afraid of becoming involved in Iowa Library Association, it will be well worth it.
Job Title: Media Specialist (Teacher Librarian)
Library: Roosevelt Creative Corridor Business Academy, Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Time at Your Library: This is my 3rd year at Roosevelt, and my 5th year with CRCSD.
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of serving your library?
My favorite part of serving the students, staff, and families of Roosevelt has been bringing student voice into the reorganization of the library space, as well as diversifying the library collection. With student input, we have added 100's of graphic novels as well as expanded our manga collection. Using a collection development grant that I received from AASL, I have worked to diversify the collection. https://knowledgequest.aasl.org/aasl-inspire-collection-development-grant-expanding-library-collection-bring-together-community-learners/
What is your wish list for you library in the next 10 years?
My goals for the RCCBA library over the next few years is to continue to build a collection and a program that the students want to be a part of. This includes finding books that the students are interesting in reading, and continuing to write grants to access more materials than my budget currently allows me to purchase. I am also working on building elective classes that are engaging to our students. (I teach elective courses as part of our magnet schedule.) Courses I will teach this year include Mystery Skype, Makey Makey, green screen photography and videos, and stop motion animation. Last year I also taught a service learning elective where we built ten free little libraries. This coming spring I will work with our students to finish installing the final four free little libraries with the CR community. Of course, building relationships with the teachers that I collaborate with within my school is always top of my list as well.
Outside of the RCCBA library, my hope is to continue to serve on committees at the district and state level, to work to demonstrate the importance of teacher librarians and school libraries to our community leaders. I currently serve on CRCSD's School Improvement Advisory Committee (SIAC), and as an member of the IASL Executive Board as an At-Large representative working with ILA.
Why is your library important to your community?
The library is important to the Roosevelt community of learners because it gives our students access to books that they may not otherwise have access to. Approximately 50% of our student population are students of color and about 20% of our students are learning English, so it is important to me that these students see themselves in the characters and the authors that are part of our collection. I have also begun to build up a collection of books in Spanish, and will continue to work to provide books in other languages as well.
What book are you currently reading?
I'm trying to read a few more of the IASL Iowa Teen Award Books right now, so I have Still A Work In Progress and Projekt 1065 on the top of my pile. I recently finished The Poet X.
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
Is it bad that I don't specifically have one? This time of year, I love seeing the cartoon resurface on social media with the boy who asks Santa for the ability to travel through time and space, and Santa gives him a library card. http://blogs.post-gazette.com/index.php/opinion/rob-rogers-cartoons/30863-library-card
New Year's Resolutions - Yes or No?
Actually, I don't typically set New Year's resolutions.
Job Title: Reader's Advisory Librarian
Library: Carnegie-Stout Public Library - Dubuque, Iowa
Time at Your Library: 17 years. I started at this library in high school and worked through College. I previously worked part time as a clerk and Library Assistant. I’ve been full time for roughly 2 years, starting around the same time I finished my Masters of Library Science.
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of serving your library?
Before I started my full-time position, I organized a regular music series for local and regional musicians to perform their original songs. It’s an after hours concert that I continue to put on every other month. I enjoy being part of a group that values creativity and will try all sorts of programming for adults.
What is your wish list for you library in the next 10 years?
Nothing specific because it’s hard to imagine what the library will look like in 10 years with the rapid changes society goes through. I wish for us to continue to meet and exceed the needs of our community. I want us to continue to be recognized and receive the funding and support that keeps us relevant. We are a mover and a shaker in the community – I want that to continue.
Why is your library important to your community?
We strive to meet everyone’s needs, no matter your background. Besides providing knowledge through the curated books and media, we offer many programs targeted to meet the educational and entertainment needs of the community.
What book are you currently reading?
I just finished a trilogy of books I fell in love with. Robertson Davies wrote the Cornish trilogy of books in the 80’s-The Rebel Angels, What’s Bred in the Bone, and The Lyre of Orpheus. They have excellent, well-developed characters with heart and humor as well as a heavy dose of art, mythology, and Jungian psychology. They’re thought provoking and well-written.
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
I’m terrible at remembering quotes that have moved me. I could go search for something quickly, but that would hardly make it my favorite.
New Year's Resolutions - Yes or No?
Keep a small notebook in hand to write down moving and memorable quotes.
Job Title: Youth Services Director
Library: Churdan Public Library - Churdan, Iowa
Time at Your Library: I have held this position for 30 years and I love it!
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of serving your library?
My favorite accomplishment has been the great rapport our library has with the school and the school children, which was evident when the senior class asked me to be their commencement speaker.
What is your wish list for you library in the next 10 years?
My wish is that in the next ten years our library will continue to be an active part of our community and offer a wide variety of things for all patrons.
Why is your library important to your community?
Our library is the community center for the town, enjoyed by all ages, and is a safe spot for latch-key kids after school.
What book are you currently reading?
I am currently reading any picture book I can get my hands on, as well as Once Upon a Farm by Rory Feek.
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
I have two favorite book quotes. The first library class I ever took was entitled “You are what you read” and that quote pretty much tells I’m a big kid. My second quote is by a favorite author, Walt Disney, “There’s more treasure in books than in all the pirate’s loot on Treasure Island.”
New Year's Resolutions - Yes or No?
I don’t have time for New Year’s resolutions.
Job Title: Director
Library: Edgewood Public Library, Edgewood, Iowa
Time at Edgewood Public Library: 25 yrs
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of working in a library? I have been in this position for 25 years. When I first started working, the fax machine was a BIG deal, so one of the biggest accomplishments in our small, rural library, was first being able to provide public access computers to our community, and later, wireless internet access. I love working and interacting with our patrons and especially enjoy presenting our programs to children.
What is your wish list for you library in the next 10 years?
As we have outgrown our current space, it would be my wish to expand our library building in the future.
Why is your library important to your community?
Our library plays an important role in our community by providing a welcoming place for all to gather, as well as providing new technologies as they become available.
What book are you currently reading?
I am currently reading Need by Joelle Charbonneau. My grand-daughter had done a book review on this book for speech last year, so I was anxious to read it.
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
"A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies...the man who never reads lives only one." by George R.R. Martin One of the best things about reading a book is using your imagination to see the words of the book come to life.
If you could spend the day any way you want, what would be the best way to spend the winter solstice?
I would have plenty of coffee and hot chocolate to drink, while I alternate reading and playing the piano. Too bad that's the shortest day of the year!
Job Title: Director of Library Services
Library: Hawkeye Community College - Waterloo, Iowa
Time at Hawkeye CC Library: 8 yrs
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of serving your library?
We re-purposed space to provide more student friendly areas, which included, adding flexible seating, collaborative technology in study rooms and more computer access. Some of the improvements were showcased on the September 2016 cover of ACRL's Choice Magazine. Most recently, in summer 2018, we converted our traditional classroom into a Steelcase Active Learning Pilot Classroom to transform and energize the learning environment.
Why is your library important to your community?
We cultivate a sense of belonging for our students, in addition to supporting their educational aspirations. The Library is the friendliest place on campus and students and faculty recognize that we provide more than just books and a place to study. In addition, the Library actively collaborates with other departments on campus initiatives; for example, the Library partners with our Phi Theta Kappa & Honors students to host a Little Free Pantry.
What book are you currently reading?
Birding without Boarders by Noah Stryker
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
"I've always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library." - Jorge Luis Borges
If you could spend the day any way you want, what would be the best way to spend the winter solstice?
Walking in the woods, immersed in the sounds and sights of nature.
Job Title: Assistant Director
Library: Mary J. Barnett Memorial Library - Gutherie Center, Iowa
Time at Mary J. Barnett Memorial Library: I celebrated my 4 yr anniversary in November.
What has been your favorite accomplishment or favorite aspect of serving your library?
It would be starting our current afterschool programs and watching the programs and kids flourish!
What is your wish list for you library in the next 10 years?
I hope we can continue to grow and meet the needs of the community. I also hope to see more technology accessible for both our staff and patrons.
Why is your library important to your community?
Being in a small rural town, our library is a community livingroom. We help connect people to people, people to ideas, and people to knowledge.
What book are you currently reading?
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell Kind
What is your favorite library-related or book quote?
"Not all those who wander are lost." - J.R.R. Tolkien
If you could spend the day any way you want, what would be the best way to spend the winter solstice?
Sitting in front of the fireplace, catching up on my reading. :)