Home    About    Advocacy    Resources    Committees    Partners    ILA Foundation

Skip to Main Content

Governmental Affairs Committee (GAC)

Committee Members

2023 Committee Members

  • Sarah Uthoff (Chair) - Kirkwood Community College
  • Michael Scott (Advisor) - State Library of Iowa
  • Anne Coatar - Iowa City School District
  • Bobbi Newman - University of Iowa
  • Jeaneal Weeks - Hiawatha PL

Committee Charge

Along with ILA lobbyists, actively pursue traditional and innovative opportunities to monitor state and federal movement that could impact Iowa libraries and/or the association; communicate such movements to the ILA Executive Board.  Actively engage members in library advocacy initiatives.  


2023 ILA Legislative Agenda 

Read the ILA Legislative Agenda for 2023.
Use the ILA Lobby From Home Guide to help you with reaching out to your legislators!

Tuesday, March 7, 2023 - ILA Advocacy Day 

State Capitol  Law Library,  2nd Floor

11:30am: Briefing with ILA Lobbyists

12:00pm - 2:00pm Reception with Legislators

Be sure to let your legislators know you'll be there with a quick email.

ILA in Action

Legislative Day 2022